Announcing the 2014 Comedy Script Contest!

We’re excited about this one!  Let’s just get right to it – we’ve lined up some fantastic judges for this year’s comedy screenplay contest.  Most of the industry’s top comedy production companies are represented.  The finalists of this contest are in for a huge opportunity!


Whether you have a romantic comedy or an action-comedy blockbuster, we want to read your script.  Also, we’ve teamed up with the Director of Development at Funny Or Die to bring you a SHORT category as well!

Big or small, we want to read smart movies with strong command of the screenwriting craft.  Winner receives $1,500 cash and exposure to some of the top comedy production companies in Hollywood!  We’re looking for fresh comedic voices – in feature length and short screenplays.

The 2014 jury includes Hollywood’s hottest comedy producers:  

  • Mark O’Connor, producer at Green Hat Films (THE HANGOVER, PROJECT X, DUE DATE)
  • Alex Plapinger, executive at Montecito Picture Company (I LOVE YOU MAN, UP IN THE AIR, OLD SCHOOL, NO STRINGS ATTACHED)
  • Billy Wee, executive at Happy Madison (Adam Sandler’s company with such hits as DEUCE BIGALOW: MALE GIGALO, PAUL BLART: MALL COP, ANGER MANAGEMENT, FUNNY PEOPLE, GROWN UPS, THE GOLDBERGS)
  • Dave Rath, manager at Generate (clients: Patton Oswalt, Kyle Kinane)
  • Joe Farrell, executive at Funny or Die (owned by Yahoo and Will Ferrell)
  • Sean Covel, producer (Napoleon Dynamite, Beneath, Broken Hill)
  • Taylor Benzie, manager at Kaplan/Perrone
  • Ben Mekler, staff writer at Nerdist Industries
  • Manager at Mosaic Media Group which represents the industry’s hottest comedy writers and talent, including such comedy giants as: Will Ferrell, Judd Apatow, Andy Samberg, Isla Fisher, Olivia Munn, Will Forte, Nick Kroll and many more!…  

Check out the rest of the The 2014 Comedy Script Contest, originally found on Screencraft.